Skip to main content

Fuelling Reclamation // Invest in BIPOC Leadership

We're committed to shifting the way the movement and wellness industry looks. Join us.

$1,735
pledged of$100,000 goal
26
104Days Left
Fund it
Campaign Ends on September 30, 2021

Project Description

 
Help us continue to fuel the reclamation of movement and wellness spaces. 
A photo at the GOODBODYFEEL studio with a bouquet of flowers in the middle of a circle of people.

 

We are GOODBODYFEEL. A pilates, yoga and mindfulness studio. We’re interested in building self-awareness, strength and community through accessible and inclusive movement classes. 

GOODBODYFEEL dances at the intersection of mindful movement and social justice - self-care for community care. We set out to create experiences that remind people of their own agency and their worth. Through the use of considerate language, accessible sequencing and radical acceptance, we hope to inspire feelings of belonging and empowerment.

We offer a 200 hour Teacher Training program. The GOODBODYFEEL Method is an approach to physical practice that is radically inclusive and committed to accessibility. This is achieved in the way we sequence our classes, ensuring our bodies have been primed for the work. It is achieved in the language we use, which is trauma-informed, anti-oppressive and all-body-loving. It is achieved in the spaces we endeavour to hold and create. This program is has come to life out of the lived experience of our founder, Robin Lacambra. It's intention is to equip participants with sharing movement from their authentic place. 

At our core, we are committed to BIPOC healing and amplification.

And here are more of the ways that GOODBODYFEEL demonstrates this commitment: 

  • Out of our 14 teachers that teach weekly classes, 10 of them are BIPOC. And out of the 10, 7 of them are Black.
  • We have been hosting exclusive BIPOC classes since we opened our brick and mortar studio, in 2019.
  • During the pandemic, we changed the format of our BIPOC exclusive class so that it's free to attend and we are now able to amplify the work of Black and Indigenous teachers from places outside of our local network. These classes started as a 4-week series in June that allowed us to pay $75/teacher thanks to collaborative fundraising with Jesal Parikh of the Yoga is Dead podcast. We have been running it weekly since, crowdfunding for teacher fees so that the class can remain free for folks to attend while now paying Black and Indigenous instructors $100/class.
  • Since 2018,  we have been offering scholarship opportunities and financial considerations for Black, Indigenous and People of Colour for our Teacher Training program.
  • The 5 person admin team is 100% BIPOC 
  • 3 of the admin staff are alumni from the teacher training and have received either the scholarship or a bursary. Our hope in both sponsoring folks and hiring them is to help build their experience, resume and confidence to pursue whatever their passions and gifts pull them towards. 
  • We have regular exclusive classes for queer folks and there are also more queer folks on our team than not. 
  • We have a number of folks on staff, teacher trainees and community members who attend classes living with chronic pain, and all of our teachers lead from a body-liberation-anti-diet and trauma aware framework.

This is who we are. All of these seeds planted are tended to with care and intention. Made possible thanks to community giving, partnerships and trust. Thank you to everyone who has been creating these waves with us.

 

Now, let's continue to dream bigger.

Our core beliefs are rooted in the much needed radical shift of this industry, with the deep understanding that representation matters. 

That is what this campaign is about. We are launching this campaign to continue to fund this reclamation. The reclamation and unwavering space-taking that is long overdue in the North American wellness world.

Our goal is to raise enough funds to offer our teacher training program free of charge to BIPOC participants in search of financial assistance and to fuel up a FREE BIPOC only edition of the program in 2022. This year, we have received a total of 15 scholarship applications by BIPOC. We have the opportunity to invest in the right to space taking. We have the opportunity to invest in the healing, growth and prosperity of Black, Indigenous and People of Colour and we hope you'll be a part of our mission to make it happen.

It would be very impactful to receive support to sponsor more BIPOC students and hopefully with the information shared above, it demonstrates how your contribution will have staying power in the opportunities we cultivate for folks.

Immense gratitude to any and everyone who has invested in us. Whether it be financially, energetically or both. Thank you for being here. 

 

"Survivors of trauma and oppression, who are supported, empowered, given tools and resources, are the folks that create a better world for more people. The wisdom from our wounds seeds better futures." 

- Robin Lacambra, GOODBODYFEEL Creator

The Campaign FAQs

Where can I find our more about the Teacher Training program? 

To learn more about our Teacher Training program please check out this link: https://www.goodbodyfeel.com/teacher-training-program

 

Jessica Gale
05/17/2021
Monetary Contribution
$250
Christina Whelan
05/13/2021
Monetary Contribution
$25
Rose Baseil Massa
05/03/2021
May Offer - 1-month Access to On-Demand
$40
Karly
05/02/2021
May Offer - 1-month Access to On-Demand
$40
Kayla H
04/30/2021
Monetary Contribution
$115
Amelia Sloan
04/26/2021
Monetary Contribution
$30
Jenna
04/17/2021
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library
$50
04/17/2021
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library
$50
Riley
04/15/2021
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library
$50
04/14/2021
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library
$50
40.00 USD
May Offer - 1-month Access to On-Demand

We're offering a little discount on our on-demand library for the month of May! 

2 Supporters
Select this reward
75.00 USD
Movement Private

This reward gets you a movement private with a teacher from our studio. Our privates usually retail on a sliding scale of $90-$250 per hour.

Grab this steal while it's being offered for the month of May! 

0 Supporters
Select this reward
50.00 USD
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 1 month. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

6 Supporters
Select this reward
150.00 USD
3-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 3 months. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

 

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

3 Supporters
Select this reward
300.00 USD
6-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 6 months. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

0 Supporters
Select this reward
20.00 USD
1 DRAW ENTRY // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 1 entry into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni.

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

2 Supporters
Select this reward
40.00 USD
2 DRAW ENTRIES // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 2 entries into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni. The winner will receive one class per month that can be used with a group or individually. 

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

**Winner will be drawn at the end of the campaign.

1 Supporter
Select this reward
60.00 USD
3 DRAW ENTRIES // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 3 entries into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni. The winner will receive one class per month that can be used with a group or individually. 

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

**Winner will be drawn at the end of the campaign.

0 Supporters
Select this reward

Rewards

40.00 USD
May Offer - 1-month Access to On-Demand

We're offering a little discount on our on-demand library for the month of May! 

2 Supporters
Select this reward
75.00 USD
Movement Private

This reward gets you a movement private with a teacher from our studio. Our privates usually retail on a sliding scale of $90-$250 per hour.

Grab this steal while it's being offered for the month of May! 

0 Supporters
Select this reward
50.00 USD
1-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 1 month. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

6 Supporters
Select this reward
150.00 USD
3-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 3 months. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

 

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

3 Supporters
Select this reward
300.00 USD
6-month Access to our On-Demand Library

This will give you access to our on-demand library for 6 months. Our on-demand library is an online subscription with a large bank of videos ranging from 5-60min long meant to provide you access to these videos at your speed and schedule. We upload new class uploads to this library weekly.

Prioritize good-feel over the no-pain-no-gain mentality. Listen to your body's cues. It knows how to take care of you.

It's about the feel. Not the look.

Feel Strong. Feel Open. Feel Good.

0 Supporters
Select this reward
20.00 USD
1 DRAW ENTRY // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 1 entry into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni.

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

2 Supporters
Select this reward
40.00 USD
2 DRAW ENTRIES // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 2 entries into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni. The winner will receive one class per month that can be used with a group or individually. 

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

**Winner will be drawn at the end of the campaign.

1 Supporter
Select this reward
60.00 USD
3 DRAW ENTRIES // 1 YEAR CLASS PRIVATES

This donation gives you 3 entries into a draw to win a year of monthly movement privates with past GBFTT Scholarship alumni. The winner will receive one class per month that can be used with a group or individually. 

Invest in BIPOC leadership and enter in a chance to witness and receive the many gifts that are within our alumni.

**Winner will be drawn at the end of the campaign.

0 Supporters
Select this reward